You, Me and Teddy

Parenting adventures and activities in and around Neuchâtel, Switzerland.

Tribute to Miss Mayhem

Leave a comment

We stumbled across the story of Angie and her daughter Mayhem this week. If you haven’t heard about them let me fill you in.

Mayhem is a little girl who is probably more interested in fashion than the average 4 year old girl. She was never a fan of the princess dresses her mother bought her and preferred instead to steal her Angie’s clothes. Angie had the genius idea of trying to make a dress out of paper for Mayhem on afternoon and they have never stopped since.

When I read their story it rang so many bells for me so I thought lets give it a try. I showed E some of Mayhem and Angie’s dresses and she was instantly drawn to the idea and wanted to make a Minnie Mouse dress. Great I thought and started googling some Minnie Mouse images and set about rummaging in the paper box.

E and I examined the Minnie mouse images together. I found a standard Minnie image and E found one she preferred… Maybe I should have known then how it would turn out.

We initially started with some coloured drawing paper. E found this too uncomfortable so we took out a roll of red crepe paper. I thought lets do the main bit of the dress in red and then I can puff the skirt and add some puff sleeves. E let me do the body of the dress in Red but then she took over directing me as to what she wanted where and what colours. I was told she needed black legs. I thought that maybe she would like a bow on the dress but no only in her hair. Did she want ears like Minnie? “No, I’m Scooby Mummy!” (Scooby is her self adopted nickname). That was me told so I just stayed “mum” and followed her instructions for “black socks”.

I was allowed to add some white dots at the end giving it a more Minniesque twist and E was thrilled with the result and spent the next 30 minutes running around like a mad creature until the dress was totally shredded.
minnie E
behind E

Now E is an impatient 2 year old not a 4 year old and I am nowhere near as gifted as Angie but I am quite pleased with the result. I expect we will attempt it again sometime but not in the near future.

Hats off to Mayhem and Angie!
lipstick

Author: youmeandteddy

I am a stay at home mum with 2 young children living in the French speaking part of Switzerland.

Leave a Reply

